# The Faculty

Approximately 90 percent of the regular full-time faculty hold doctoral degrees or the highest degree in their field, graduating from 57 different graduate schools across the United States and abroad. Although they are described as a teaching faculty, they actively conduct research to keep abreast of developments in their fields and participate in a wide variety of professional development activities. By becoming recognized authors, performers, and presenters, they enhance their roles as teachers and advisors.

Faculty members at Nebraska Wesleyan are recognized for their pursuit of excellence and for their achievement through the following awards and fellowships:

# The Margaret J. Prouty Faculty Teaching Award

The purpose of the Dr. Margaret J. Prouty Faculty Teaching Award, which was awarded for the first time in the spring of 1995, is to recognize and reward faculty for excellence in teaching. The recipients is deemed to have made a distinct difference in the intellectual lives of students through effective and creative instruction and/or course development.

# 2023-2024 Recipient:

• Sandra Mathews, History

# 2022-2023 Recipient:

• Karla Jensen, Communication Studies

### 2021-2022 Recipient:

• Austin Mohr, Mathematics and Computer Science

### 2020-2021 Recipient:

• Molly Fitzke, Nursing

### 2019-2020 Recipient:

• Kelly Bauer, Political Science

### 2018-2019 Recipient:

• Kelly Clancy, Political Science

# Faculty Advisor of the Year Award

The Faculty Advisor of the Year Award, was created in the spring of 2015 by Student Affairs Senate, to recognize and reward faculty for the pursuit of excellence in advising. The recipient is deemed to have made a distinct impact on a studentâ??s learning and overall development

### 2023-2024 Recipient:

• Rachel Maceri, Health and Human Performance

### 2022-2023 Recipient:

· Samantha Wilson, Health and Human Performance

### 2021-2022 Recipient:

• Joan Gilbreth, Sociology and Anthropology

### 2020-2021 Recipient:

• Nathaniel Smith, Political Science

## 2019-2020 Recipient:

• Rita Lester, Philosophy and Religion

## 2018-2019 Recipient.

• Melissa Erdmann, Mathematics

# **Faculty Scholar Award**

Established by the Faculty Development Committee in the spring of 2012 to recognize a faculty member who has distinguished herself or himself through research, scholarly work, and/or creative projects.

# 2023-2024 Recipient:

• Manuela Borzone, Modern Languages

### 2022-2023 Recipient:

• Rita Lester, Philosophy and Religion

# 2021-2022 Recipient:

• Sue Wortmann, Sociology and Anthropology

# 2020-2021 Recipient:

• Jonathan Redding, Philosophy and Religion

# 2019-2020 Recipient:

• Kelly Bauer, Political Science

# 2018-2019 Recipient:

Amy Spears, Assistant Professor of Music

# The United Methodist Church Exemplary Teacher Award

The Exemplary Teacher Award, sponsored by the General Board of Higher Education and Ministry of The United Methodist Church, is presented to a faculty member teaching at a United Methodist-related institution of higher education who demonstrates excellence in teaching, civility and concern for students and colleagues, commitment to value-centered education, service to students, the institution, the community, or church.

# 2023-2024 Recipient:

• Chris Swift, Business Administration

### 2022-2023 Recipient:

• Mary Hickman, English

### 2021-2022 Recipient:

• Jana Holzmeier, Music

# 2020-2021 Recipient:

• Kara Cavel, Social Work

### 2019-2020 Recipient:

• Scott Stanfield, English

### 2018-2019 Recipient:

• Dave Whitt, Communication Studies

# The Kenneth R. Holder Fellowship for Instructional Improvement

The Kenneth R. Holder Fellowship for Instructional Improvement is an annual grant designed to encourage individual instructional innovation and teaching excellence. The fellowship honors Dr. Kenneth R. Holder who, as Provost of Nebraska Wesleyan University (1987-1991), stimulated and supported faculty efforts for improving classroom instruction and enriching the educational experience of all Nebraska Wesleyan students.

### 2023-2024 Recipient:

• Chelsea Klinkebiel, Psychology

# 2022-2023 Recipient:

• Kara Cavel, Social Work

# 2021-2022 Recipient:

• Amy Spear, Music

# 2020-2021 Recipient:

Gerise Herndon, English

### 2019-2020 Recipient:

• John Spilker, Music

# 2018-2019 Recipient:

• Sara Jane Miles, Modern Languages