The Faculty

Approximately 90 percent of the regular full-time faculty hold doctoral degrees or the highest degree in their field, graduating from 57 different graduate schools across the United States and abroad. Although they are described as a teaching faculty, they actively conduct research to keep abreast of developments in their fields and participate in a wide variety of professional development activities. By becoming recognized authors, performers, and presenters, they enhance their roles as teachers and advisors.

Faculty members at Nebraska Wesleyan are recognized for their pursuit of excellence and for their achievement through the following awards and fellowships:

The Margaret J. Prouty Faculty Teaching Award

The purpose of the Dr. Margaret J. Prouty Faculty Teaching Award, which was awarded for the first time in the spring of 1995, is to recognize and reward faculty for excellence in teaching. The recipients is deemed to have made a distinct difference in the intellectual lives of students through effective and creative instruction and/or course development.

2019-2020 Recipient:

• Kelly Bauer, Assistant Professor of Political Science

2018-2019 Recipient:

• Kelly Clancy, Assistant Professor of Political Science

2017-2018 Recipient:

• Jonathan Redding, Visiting Professor of Religion

Faculty Advisor of the Year Award

The Faculty Advisor of the Year Award, was created in the spring of 2015 by Student Affairs Senate, to recognize and reward faculty for the pursuit of excellence in advising. The recipient is deemed to have made a distinct impact on a studentâ??s learning and overall development

2019-2020 Recipient:

• Rita Lester, Professor of Religion

2018-2019 Recipient.

• Melissa Erdmann, Professor of Mathematics

2017-2018 Recipient.

• Austin Mohr, Associate Professor of Mathematics

Faculty Scholar Award

Established by the Faculty Development Committee in the spring of 2012 to recognize a faculty member who has distinguished herself or himself through research, scholarly work, and/or creative projects.

2019-2020 Recipient:

• Kelly Bauer, Assistant Professor of Political Science

2018-2019 Recipient:

• Amy Spears, Assistant Professor of Music

2017-2018 Recipient:

Scott Stanfield, Professor of English

Ameritas Faculty Fellowships

Selection criteria for the Ameritas Fellowships focus on the potential professional benefit to the individual and to the University. The intent is to assist faculty members in completing projects related to teaching strategies, individual research, curricular initiatives, and professional growth, while honoring members of the faculty for their contributions to academic excellence.

2018-2019 Recipients:

- Kelly Bauer, Assistant Professor of Political Science
- Kelly Clancy, Assistant Professor of Political Science
- Joan Gilbreth, Professor of Sociology
- Catherine Nelson, Professor of Spanish
- John Spilker, Associate Professor of Music

2017-2018 Recipients:

- Dale M. Benham, Professor of Biology
- Sarah Berkeley, Assistant Professor of Art
- Kevin P. Bower, Associate Professor of History
- Nathaniel Cunningham, Associate Professor of Physics
- Toni Jensen, Assistant Professor of Social Work
- C. Gerise Herndon, Professor of English
- Sandra K. Mathews, Professor of History

The United Methodist Church Exemplary Teacher Award

The Exemplary Teacher Award, sponsored by the General Board of Higher Education and Ministry of The United Methodist Church, is presented to a faculty member teaching at a United Methodist-related institution of higher education who demonstrates excellence in teaching, civility and concern for students and colleagues, commitment to value-centered education, service to students, the institution, the community, or church.

2018-2019 Recipient:

• Dave Whitt, Professor of Communication Studies

2017-2018 Recipient:

· Amy Spears, Assistant Professor of Music

The Kenneth R. Holder Fellowship for Instructional Improvement

The Kenneth R. Holder Fellowship for Instructional Improvement is an annual grant designed to encourage individual instructional innovation and teaching excellence. The fellowship honors Dr. Kenneth R. Holder who, as Provost of Nebraska Wesleyan University (1987-1991), stimulated and supported faculty efforts for improving classroom instruction and enriching the educational experience of all Nebraska Wesleyan students.

2019-2020 Recipient:

• John Spilker, Associate Professor of Music

2018-2019 Recipient:

· Sara Jane Miles, Associate Professor of French

2017-2018 Recipients:

- Kelly Bauer, Assistant Professor of Political Science
- Kelly Clancy, Assistant Professor of Political Science